Nigerian Government appoints Ribadu new Petroleum Police

The Goodluck Jonathan led federal government of Nigeria has appointed former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) Mallam Nuhu Ribadu as the Chairman of a newly constituted task force on petroleum revenue.

The Nigerian government claimed this action was taken to meet the yearnings of Nigerians for transparency in the oil and gas sector.

Mallam Nuhu Ribadu

In a statement issued by the Ministry of Petroleum resources and signed by the permanent Secretary Goni Sheikh on behalf of the Minister the special task force is designed to enhance probity and accountability in operations of the Petroleum Industry.

The statement reads “Consistent with the policies and promises of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s Administration, and underpinned by the yearnings of the people of Nigeria for transparency in the Petroleum Industry, the Honourable Minister of Petroleum Resources has set up a Petroleum Revenue Special Task Force designed to enhance probity and accountability in operations of the Petroleum Industry. The Petroleum Revenue Special Task Force, whose membership is listed below, is charged with the following terms of reference:

1.To work with consultants and experts to determine and verify all petroleum upstream and downstream revenues <taxes, royalties, etc.) due and payable to the Federal Government of Nigeria;

2. To take all necessary steps to collect all debts due and owing; to obtain agreements and enforce payment term’s by all oil industry operators;

3.To design a cross debt matrix between all Agencies and Parastatals of the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources;

4.To develop an automated platform to enable effective tracking, monitoring, and online validation of income, and debt drivers of all Parastatals and Agencies in the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources;

5. To work with world-class consultants to integrate systems and technology across the production chain to determine and monitor crude oil production and exports, ensuring at all times, the integrity of payments to the Federal Government of Nigeria; and,

6.To submit monthly reports for ministerial review and further action.

7.Mallam Nuhu Ribadu

8. Mr. Steve Oronsaye

9.  Mallam Abba Kyari

10. Ms. Benedicta Molokwu

11. Mr. Supo Sasore, SAN

12. Mr. Tony Idigbe, SAN

13. Mr. Anthony George-Ikoli, SAN-

14. Dr. (Mrs.) Omolara Akanji

15. Mr. Olisa Agbakoba, SAN

16.  Mr. Ituah Ighodalo

17.  Mr. Bon Otti

18. Mallam SamaHa Zubairu

19. Mr.Ignatius Adegunle

20. Mr. Gerald Ilukwe

21.  Rep. of FIRS

22. Rep. of FMF Incorporated

23. Rep. of HAGF/HMJ

24. Rep. of OAGF

25. Rep. of DPR

26. Rep. of NNPC


You may also like...

Leave a Reply